top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelucciarennie

See it in your head, hold it in your heart, have it in your hands.

That night as I poked the seaweed fire and got ready for bed two new dogs run across my view and gallop into the sea. So free and friendly I'd admired there awareness of the waves and tumbling in and out never becoming overwhelmed by the strength of the sea. Not long after the owner follows, stopping to question my intentions when camping at what felt like his bay.

The conversation went from one of slight defence, to intrigue and then inset his worry for my safety. I reassured him I'd be fine and he reassured me that he lived not to far if I needed anything and on he went to enjoy the dusk set walk .


Beans and Penne. I thought would like absolutely banging, hearty and delicious. Unfortunately it was all slightly undercooked in my impatience and some bits not even al dente. Definitely didn't pick up the quick cook pasta. Still my hunger was satisfied and I settled in for my first nights rest.


I must of been asleep by 8 pm and woke up thinking, if a night sleep is going to be that comfy through out the trip i'll have no problem camping, I instantly felt quite at home in my bright red half moon of a tent.


Not long after waking up the patter of paws went past again, this time a more timid blind old fella dog. The beautiful sandy coat knew where it was going and continued on its day not fussed by me. His owner Bob on the other hand again like David the night before stopped to chat. Such lovely gentleman who was inspired by my trip and told me about his life as a retired builder turned painter. He'd lived an incredible life reaching the height of his career enabling him to retire to the highlands with his wife. They owned a lavender field which she uses to make perfumes. A lavender field. Can you imagine how stunning that must be?


Bob told me about the first painting he made, how he'd never picked up a brush before but felt the urge to paint a scene he'd made in his mind. The note he left me with was that "you can do anything you want, absolutely anything. Not to be afraid of the journey I had a head. To stay brave. If you can see it in your head, hold it in your heart you will have it in your hands." He tapped his head, rubbed his heart and held his hands out as if ready to take communion.


When i'm nervous I play with my figures and hands, rubbing my sink as if to make sure they're still there. His last notion really struck me as I made this association with his gesture and my habit.


I just needed to see myself at the final sign post at Lands End and I'll make it.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page